RSS

Dry spell…or a spell of dry weather….would definitely prefer the latter.

03 Apr

So I had a dry spell.  I guess this is what my husband calls writers block, fortunately as an author he doesn’t often have it…. but regardless… I had one and I had guilt over it.   I had full intentions of writing more in the New Year.  But January 1st came and went and the only blog post I put up was a picture of Char and I cooking on New Year’s Eve in our chef’s outfits.  Which turned out very great btw.  At 2:30 am when we were still dancing, we realized we should really go to bed or we reckoned the next day was going to be more than tough.

So I apologize to all my avid followers… heehee… all 5 of you?  Here finally is a post and its about nothing.  Recently I cleaned up the pictures on the hard drive of this computer.  It was full and all my various food pictures were struggling to fit.  When Don gave me that great Canon at Christmas 2010… all the pictures got a lot larger.  Seemed a shame it have such a great camera and take pictures the size of a small point and shoot camera.

I discovered I had purchased an external hard drive and forgot about it.  I decided that no time like the present to sort out how to attach it to this computer and then….. what turned out to be the arduous task of moving 10000+ pictures over to it.  To improvise I also had to find a USB hub, which I also had kicking around.  The problem with ‘old’ anything in computer world is that also means ‘slow’  The little box kept popping telling me that if I used a high speed USB, things would be better.  Well I had all the time in the world….

I will explain, 2 weeks ago I got the worst influenza I have ever had. I had nothing but time on my hands as I slowly recovered.  Today, 2 weeks later I FINALLY could go back to Bootcamp and be pathetic and short of breath.  Anyways that’s another story…. I slowly dragged all the picture files over to the external drive.  Then after I got them all over there, I tested my ‘screen saver’ picture rotation.  We discovered a few years ago that you could put pictures onto a screen saver rotation and then you would actually get to see all your holiday pictures that you forgot you took. Once I was assured it would still run through the holiday pics, I deleted them off the hard drive… meanwhile praying that I didn’t inadvertently delete anything I couldn’t live without.

Really, what was a I worried about.  Just because its was external I didn’t believe it was as ‘safe’ as the hard drive on the computer… the hard drive that is accessed every day and bombarded with Temporary Internet files and a variety of other strange things from the internet.  Who was I fooling?  The external hard drive just sits there and occasionally makes a sound as its accessed.  And that’s it.

So after all was said and done, I got a huge amount of space back on my computer hard drive. Now I can proceed to fill it up with useless information that will just further confuse and irritate me in the future when I have to figure out how to get rid of it.  But such is human nature… that’s why Storage businesses are so prevalent and why Storage Wars is such a popular show… human beings just can’t seem to deal with things in the present… they have the ‘need’ to hold on to stuff for that inevitable rainy day.

And on that note, here are some of the pictures that I found I have on my now-external hard drive. Enjoy!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 3, 2012 in Sharing

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
